Department of Rehabilitation Services (DRS)

The Department of Rehabilitation Services is meant to help people with disabilities find jobs. I have found from personal experience and talking to others that the quality of the services offered by DRS varies greatly from office to office, even within the same state.

One of the services I was offered was help paying for school. However, two counselors told me that DRS was unable to pay toward grad school or a second bachelor’s. However, you might be able to get help paying for your first Associate’s or Bachelor’s. I strongly suggest asking your counselor if you have any questions about this as soon as possible.

At least at the offices I went to, it was clear that the counselors were only equipped to help people looking for entry-level minimum wage jobs and/or help review a cover letter or resume. However, if you’re affiliated with a college or university, I suggest contacting the Career Services office there first because they’re more likely to get back to you in a timely manner than DRS simply because they’re likely to have a smaller caseload.

DRS can also help you attain some of the specialized equipment you need for school and/or work that is related to your disability. For example, a friend of mine with severe visual impairment was able to have DRS cover the costs of the computer software she needed. However, she told me that it was a very lengthy and difficult process to get this done.

Overall:

Like with any other official documentation you receive, you should respond as soon as possible to any notices or letters instructing you to contact or meet with your DRS counselor. Oftentimes, failure to do so by the deadline can result in changes being made to your benefits and/or ability to get benefits.

Also, it’s probably worth giving your DRS counselor a try to see if she or he can help you. If you’re having a difficult time with your assigned DRS counselor, you might want to request to see a different person or even to go to a different office.

2 Responses to Department of Rehabilitation Services (DRS)

  1. jafee says:

    I would like to comment on Enlightening the Darkness.
    I am a disabled person. I decided to go back to school a couple of years ago because I could no longer the do the job I had been doing (medical transcription). I had gotten to the point where I could no longer sit more than 3-4 hours at a time typing. I figured I had better try to find some type of work I could actually do from my bed if necessary. I asked Vocational Rehabilitation to help me with tuition. By the time I received help I had been in school almost a year. Then they did not want to pay the school I was attending and so I transferred. Actually, they did not want to pay any school I attended because I had to attend school online. There was no way I could sit up in a classroom all day or walk from class-to-class. I was also told that I would need to take 12-16 credit hours per semester and maintain at least a C average to get their help. Some kids just out of college cannot do that, so how can a middle-aged, disabled person accomplish this? I did end up with a D in one subject, but that was because the school would not accept my letter from my physician and give neck to finish it. Also, when I informed my counselor at Vocational Rehab that I intended to go to school to obtain a PhD, he thought I was crazy. They did not want to pay for me to attend school at home, they wanted me to go to a training school, learn a trade and go to work. I intend to get a higher degree and sit at home and teach online. Before me, I think in that office this was unheard of. Well, I am not receiving help from them this semester, but I am still in school.

    My suggestion to you is to keep trying. Whatever it is you want to do, you will find a way to do it. I don’t know much about how VR helps people with Bipolar, but I do know that you can get Social Security Disability, and there are many other services that you qualify for.

    Jafee

    • EtD says:

      Jafee,

      What you are doing is amazing. You obviously have a lot of drive and self-confidence to be able to do what you are doing. I’m very happy that you commented on my blog.

      Maintaining willpower is difficult for me, especially when things are uncertain and everything seems like a drawn out process.

      You can get social security disability for having bipolar disorder. I’ve met several people who have done this. One person said it took five months (though his mother did it for him). Another said it took well over a year. Once you have social security though, it sounds like doors start opening up to other programs, like free bus passes, medical coverage, and monetary aid, all things that I personally think should be granted based also on financial need, but aren’t in Illinois it seems.

      Have you tried for social security disability?

      I’m sorry to hear that VR has been so reluctant to help you out on an individual level. What you wrote sounds like what they told us during orientation and during my session, suggesting that what they did with you was what they do with everyone, so at least I hope it’s not personal.

      Best of luck with your schooling and your ambitions!

Leave a comment